A Service of Saddleback College and
California State University, Northridge
Top Ten Songs of the Week (4/1/2022)

Top Ten Songs of the Week (4/1/2022)


1. The Black Keys are back with a brand new single! "Wild Child" is from their upcoming album 'Dropout Boogie,' which is available for pre-order now. After the album's release on May 13th, The Black Keys will be on a national tour, performing in Los Angeles at The Forum on October 8th. The Black Keys is an American duo formed in 2001 by musicians Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney. 'Dropout Boogie' will be their eleventh studio album!


2. "Curious" is the latest track from Scottish rock band Franz Ferdinand. The song is from their latest studio album 'Hits To The Head.' Originating in 2001, the band debuted with the eponymous album containing the hit song "Take Me Out." While the band has rotated members throughout the years, Alex Kapranos has been the lead vocalist and guitarist since the very beginning. You can see Franz Ferdinand at the Just Like Heaven Festival on May 21st, Brookside at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena!


3. Musical trio Khruangbin and singer-songwriter Leon Bridges announced their joint EP Texas Moon, scheduled for release on February 18th. “B-Side” was released as the EP’s first single and below is the music video for the song. This isn’t the first time Bridges and Khruangbin collaborated on a project. In 2020, they released Texas Sun. You can stream both albums and even order Texas Moon on vinyl, CD and cassette.


4. British singer-songwriter Arlo Parks has followed up her 2021 debut studio album 'Collapsed in Sunbeams' with her new single, "Softly." Arlo started her music career with her single "Cola" in 2018, followed by the EP 'Super Sad Generation' in 2019. The incredible artist won the Breakthrough Artists Award at last year's Brit Awards. Parks is a fan favorite heading on tour with Clairo, and on June 22nd, Arlo will also be joining Harry Styles for a show in Dublin.


5. They may have been around for a little while now, but that doesn't mean they stopped putting out show-stopping songs. "Wake Me Up" is the latest single by the band Foals. In 2020, they re-emerged despite the pandemic with a collection of remixes called 'Collected Reworks.'


6. Sharon Van Etten is a singer-songwriter who started her career with the album ‘Because I Was in Love’ in 2009. Since then, the artist has released four more studio albums. The latest work by Sharon are the singles “Used To It” and “Porta”; you can listen to the latter this week on 88.5 FM! This July, Van Etten is coming to Los Angeles with fellow musicians Angel Olsen, Julien Baker, and Spencer. You can see them at the Greek Theatre on July 28th and 29th.


7. Next up is the artist who has been creating angelic music since 2007. Florence + the Machine’s debut album ‘Lungs’ was critically acclaimed after its release in 2009. Now, the group is back with the single "My Love." The band, consisting of musicians Florence Welch, Isabella Summers, Rob Ackroyd, Chris Hayden, Mark Saunders, and Tom Monger, is coming out with their fifth studio album ‘Dance Fever.’ The record is expected for release on May 13th.


8. This group recently performed at our 88FIVE Live Members Only event in February at The Echo! Legendary American rock band Spoon has just come out with their tenth studio album, ‘Lucifer On The Sofa.’ “Wild,” the fourth track off ‘Lucifer On The Sofa,’ was released earlier this year along with a music video directed by Ben Chappell and Brook Linder. Luckily, Spoon will be performing at the Hollywood Palladium on June 2nd!


9. "Everything's Electric" is the latest track from Liam Gallagher that will be on his upcoming album 'C'mon You Know.' Before Gallagher's solo career started, many knew Liam from his work as co-frontman of Oasis with his brother Noel. 'C'mon You Know' is expected to be released this year and is Gallagher's third solo studio album.


10. Big Thief is the musical creation of singer-songwriters and guitarists Adrianne Lenker and Buck Meek, bassist Max Oleartchik, and drummer James Krivchenia. The band dropped their double album, Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You, this month! The quartet is currently on tour and stopping in Los Angeles for two nights in May, the 10th and the 11th at The Wiltern. "Simulation Swarm" was debuted by the full band on tour in 2021.