A Service of Saddleback College and
California State University, Northridge

Steve Perry (Yes, That Steve Perry) Releases New Music For First Time In 22 Years

Steve Perry Traces


Over the past few years Steve Perry or Journey fame has slowly started returning to the spotlight. After his split from Journey in the late 1990's, he disappeared from the world without any new albums or tours. He surprised the music world when he would appear live on stage with Eels during their 2014 tour. Now he's returned from the studio with a brand new album, Traces, his first in over two decades.

To answer the first thing you're thinking - yes, the new music is anthemic. The first single "No Erasin'" kicks off with a big intro for Perry as he appropriately sings "I know it's been a long time coming..." The voice that defined "Don't Stop Believing" is still there, big as ever. Perry said of the new music:

Putting 30 years into 10 songs has certainly been an emotional experience for me. I started writing and recording these songs with the creative freedom that I was the only one who would ever hear them. Along the way, I rediscovered my love for music. Each track represents traces of my past, but is also a hopeful look into the future. I invite you to listen with an open heart.

The rest of the album will likely bring more rock anthems that have defined Perry's career and helped get him (with Journey) into the Hall Of Fame.


1. “No Erasin’”
2. “We’re Still Here”
3. “Most Of All”
4. “No More Cryin’”
5. “In The Rain”
6. “Sun Shines Gray”
7. “You Belong To Me”
8. “Easy To Love”
9. “I Need You”
10. “We Fly”